Chief and Council

The elections were held in December, 2008 for 1 Chief and 5 Councillors. The First Nation officials normally serve a three year term with the next election scheduled for December, 2011.

The Chief and Council form the political arm for Chemawawin Cree Nation. They deal with governance and policy issues in the community. They negotiate with the federal government and work to increase federal funding and bring new money and programs into the community. Chief and Council are working towards the privatization of non-INAC funded programs.

The Following programs are the responsibility of Chief and Council:

  • Economic and Community Development
  • Community Revitalization
  • Finance and Administration
  • Lands
  • Housing
  • Gaming
  • Health
  • Education

Chief Clarence Easter

 Councillor Floyd George

 Councillor Albert Packo

Councillor Richard Bourassa

Councillor Frederick Ledoux

Councillor Shirley Walker